Theological punctuation?

In 'God' We Trust at the Ellis Theater
What do you think? Clever use of punctuation to make a pithy, postmodern, metatheological comment? Or something else?

Via The “Blog” of “Unnecessary” Quotation Marks.

UPDATE: If anyone’s curious, this appears to be the Ellis Theatre in Perryton, Texas. A nice photo of it with a different slogan showing on the marquee can be seen on Flickr.

About Nathan Rein

I'm a historian of the Protestant Reformation. I teach religious studies at Ursinus College, in southeastern Pennsylvania, near Philadelphia. More about me at nathanrein.com.
This entry was posted in Nathan Rein, Theory in the Real World. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Theological punctuation?

  1. bethany says:

    nice post. I appreciate the link. Interesting topic for a blog, I study rhetoric of religion in my day job, so we have some things in common.

  2. BY says:

    Didn’t the postmodernists love the strike through more than the quotation marks? You know the concept of x was “always already” “under erasure”.

  3. Craig Martin says:

    BY: I once asked Derrida for his signature, but instead of asking him to sign my copy of Margins of Philosophy, I asked him to cross out the copy of his signature printed at the end of “Signature Event Context,” so I could read it “under erasure.”

    I thought it was awfully clever, but his response was: “You could have done this yourself!”

Leave a Reply

